Shown at CeBIT 2016 Hall 11 booth F59/6

Better Access Control & Rights Management

by Dynamic Access Control (DAC)
in Windows Server 2012

File servers have remained unchanged for many years - clients accessed protected directories (shares and NTFS permissions), and that was it. From the perspective of IT risk management, the importance of controlling user access has increased hugely in recent times. Today it has become important to understand who is accessing files from where and with what kind of equipment. And it is equally important to assign differentiated rights to users and devices not only at the directory level, but also at the file level.

Opportunity makes the thief: It is not simply that files are accidentally placed in unprotected directories or those with flawed permissions. No, often it is "the enemy within" at work in the company.

- Bank employees copy confidential files for others,
- Mature industrial patent information finds its way to the competitor,
- Contractual information escapes into the wild

and the possible consequences of cloud computing can make manager’s hair stand on end.

As an example, the theft of tax data from Credit Suisse demonstrates that either users had higher access privileges than necessary or privileged users could perform activities should have been prevented (Source: KuppingerCole).

Lack of Opportunity prevents thievery: There is a common saying: "Trust is good but Control is better." In other words, that which is inaccessible has never seduced anyone and doesn’t cause undue remorse.

The need for better control of access privileges on file servers has now been addressed in Windows Server 2012 with the introduction of DAC (Dynamic Access Control) and FCI (File Classification Infrastructure).

Classification specifications can now be attached automatically to any file, thus enabling individual access privileges to be generated on a file-by-file basis according to a Central Access Policy (CAP).

But what about the classification of existing files? Who fills the gap in their metadata?

next step here or contact info(at)docstream.eu

NEUHEIT gezeigt auf der CeBIT 2016 Halle 11, Stand F59/6

Autoklassifizierung von Texten für bessere Zugriffskontrolle & Rechteverwaltung

durch Microsoft AD RMS bzw. Azure RMS
mit File Classification Infrastructure (FCI) / Dynamic Access Control (DAC) von Windows Server 2012

Über viele Jahre blieben Dateiserver unverändert, Clients griffen auf zugriffsgeschützte Verzeichnisse zu (Shares und NTFS permissions), und das war es. Aus Sicht des IT-Risiko­managements ist in der letzten Zeit die Bedeutung der Kontrolle von Zugriffsberechtigun­gen aber massiv gestiegen. Heutzutage ist von Belang, von wo in der Ferne und mit welcher Art von Geräten auf den Server zugegriffen wird. Und man möchte differenzierte Rechte (user, devices) nicht nur auf Verzeichnisebene, sondern auch auf Dateiebene vergeben.

Gelegenheit macht Diebe: Nicht nur werden Dateien versehentlich in ungeschützten Verzeichnissen oder solchen mit unpassenden Berechtigungen abgelegt, nein, oftmals ist bei Firmen „der innere Feind“ am Werk.

- Bankenmitarbeiter kopieren vertrauliche Dateien für Dritte,
- patentreife Informationen aus der Industrie landen beim Mitbewerber,
- Vertrauliche Vertragsinformationen gehen außer Haus

und die möglichen Konsequenzen aus dem Cloud Computing lassen manchem Verantwortlichen die Haare zu Berge stehen.

Beispielsweise zeigt der Diebstahl von Steuerdaten bei der Credit Suisse, dass entweder Benutzer mehr Zugriffsberechtigungen als erforderlich hatten oder priviligierte Benutzer Aktivitäten ausführen konnten, die sie nie hätten ausführen dürfen (Quelle: KuppingerCole).

Keine Gelegenheit macht keine Diebe: Ein bekanntes Zitat lautet: "Vertrauen ist gut, Kontrolle ist besser". Oder anders formuliert, was versperrt und nicht zugänglich ist, verführt niemanden und verursacht dann auch keine Gewissensbisse.

Diesem Bedürfnis nach verbesserter Kontrolle von Zugriffsberechtigungen bei Dateiservern trägt nun Windows Server 2012 Rechnung durch Einführung der Features DAC (dynamic access control) und FCI (file classification infrastructure).

Mit Windows Server 2012 stellt Microsoft eine neue Rechteverwaltung vor. Nun kann jeder Datei eine Klassifizierungs-angabe angeheftet werden, womit sich im Zuge einer CAP (Central Access Policy) aus Kenntnis der Klasse / Kategorie einer Datei individuelle Zugriffsrechte für diese Datei generieren lassen.

Doch wer schließt die Lücken bei den Metadaten der Dateien-Altbestände?

hier weiter oder kontaktieren Sie uns info(at)docstream.eu